Monday, September 2nd to Friday, September 6th, 2019

SIGN 2019 – 7th International Workshop on the Sign Problem in QCD and Beyond

SIGN 2019 – 7th International Workshop on the Sign Problem in QCD and Beyond

When: Monday, September 2nd to Friday, September 6th, 2019
Where: O-100, SDU, Odense, Denmark

The “sign problem” (or oftentimes the complex phase problem) is a serious difficulty in Monte Carlo simulations of QCD at finite baryon densities or with a topological term. But also in quantum many-body problems in nuclear and condensed matter physics, sign problems are present and can be severe. The difficulty at the heart of the sign problem is that contributions to the partition function are highly oscillatory, resulting in large cancellations and thus lead to a signal to noise problem. A generic solution to the sign problem may not exist, however, the severity of the sign problem depends on the degrees of freedom used to represent the partition function. Reformulating the original model often goes along with algorithmic developments. Most of the time those simulations nevertheless need to be carried out on supercomputers. For many specific models, sign problems have been successfully solved or circumvented. This international workshop intends to bring together physicists from condensed matter and field theory with an interest in computational methods to discuss prospects of solving sign problems.


To see the program for the, go here.


To sign up for the conference, go to


The conference will take place in O-100 at the University of Southern Denmark in Odense, Denmark.


We have limited funding for 5-10 PhD students to cover local expenses such as accommodation. To be considered, please contact Benjamin Jäger (

Important dates

  • 01. June 2019: Registration opens
  • 31. July 2019: Deadline for applying for financial support
  • 31. August 2019: Deadline for Registration

Local Organizer

The workshop is supported by the Danish Institute for Advanced Study.

Previous Workshops:

International Advisory Committee:

  • Gert Aarts (Swansea University, Swansea, UK)
  • Jacques Bloch (University of Regensburg, Germany)
  • Falk Bruckmann (University of Regensburg, Germany)
  • Shailesh Chandrasekharan (Duke University, United States)
  • Christof Gattringer (University of Graz, Austria)
  • Sandor Katz (Eotvos University, Budapest, Hungary)
  • Tamas Kovacs Institute for Nuclear Research, Debrecen, Hungary)
  • Owe Philipsen (JW Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Uwe-Jens Wiese (University of Bern, Bern, Switzerland)